Update #16 - Ocenia Fly Fishing Championship

Canada will be well represented at the 6th Oceania Fly Fishing Championship, which will be held on 19-25 February 2006 in Tasmania.

This bi-annual competition for the Oceania Trophy is held between New Zealand and Australia. Teams from Canada, the USA and Japan are invited to compete for team and individual medals, but are ineligible to fish for the trophy as they are not part of the Olympic Oceania region.

The event, which takes place on the Tasmanian Central Plateau, will involve loch style fishing from boats in Bronte Lagoon, Dee Lagoon and Little Pine Lake, plus sessions on the Derwent and Tyenna rivers. The target species for this strictly catch-and-release competition are brown and rainbow trout.

Team Canada has five Fly Fishing Canada members on board: Gordon Bacon (Captain) of Kamloops, BC, Christopher Pfohl of Cambridge, Ont., Robert Stroud of Hope, BC, Donald Thom of Cantley, Que., and John Beaven of Parksville, BC.

After the OFFC, Team Canada will travel to New Zealand for six days, where they plan to fish some of the likely venues for the 28th World Fly Fishing Championship and Conservation Symposium in 2008.

The 27th World Fly Fishing Championship and Conservation Symposium will be held at Kemi, Finland on 13-20 June 2007. There, Team Canada will consist of Gordon Bacon (Captain) of Kamloops, BC, Terence Courtoreille of Hay River, NWT, John Nishi of Millarville, Alta., Tom Irvine of Gravenhurst, Ont., Todd Oishi of Maple Ridge, BC, and Ernie Kalwa of Elora, Ont.